Broken Eagle in for repair!

Hasegawa’s  1:72 F-15E Strike Eagle lives again…

img_1949

I don’t often repair models, but I do make an exception for my 1:72 collection. As my favourite scale, I tend to take extra time with them, so if they ever get broken, I’ll take time to repair the damage. This is my 1:72 Hasegawa F-15E Strike Eagle that I built a few years ago. It was trashed coming back from a show and I couldn’t be bothered to deal with it. Seeing that my mate Drewe is in full-on Eagle mode, I thought I’d repair it and sort its base, his models being a reminder how much I love this aircraft! Being so badly damaged, it’s not perfect, the undercarriage being shot and in need of replacement, but at least it’s back together…

In order to do this, I carefully removed the broken parts and then cleaned the model as much as I could (breaking more parts in the process…) the whole thing being encrusted in dust and dirt during its rather forlorn time on a shelf in the loft. Having done that, the base was stripped, repainted and then the ‘tarmac’ replaced with a section of Uschi Van der Rosten’s airfield tarmac sheet which looks rather more detailed than the sprayed plasticard that I initially used.

So here’s the damaged model being repaired, showing the steps taken. Hopefully they will be self-explanatory enough not to warrant any further discussion, only simple steps being used to bring this model back to life.

I hope you enjoy seeing it being repaired!

See you next time.

img_1934img_1935img_1936img_1937img_1938img_1940img_1941img_1942img_1943img_1947img_1945

3 thoughts on “Broken Eagle in for repair!

  1. Luiz Carlos July 23, 2017 / 6:04 pm

    Nice!…excelent job!

  2. kfutter July 24, 2017 / 7:37 am

    Excellent work, Spence. Jeez, that base is gorgeous!

  3. David - Model Citizen July 24, 2017 / 9:38 am

    A little bit of TLC Spencer goes a long way, good to see your better, more caring side coming out, LOL. Great repair on you wee Eagle.

Leave a Reply

