YouTube and the need to hit ‘dislike’…

Understanding why a viewer hits the ‘dislike’ button can be very difficult – especially when it is a completely anonymous reaction…

“It’s like the Holy Trinity of Online protest: Father, Son and Holy Spite.”

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-09-21-58

Yesterday I posted my first YouTube video is almost five months.

Having been away from the glare of the camera’s spotlight, I figured that I would keep it light, talk about some recently completed models and try and avoid anything that would be a red-flag trigger to those that I know don’t like me or more importantly, what I do. And then I sat back and waited for the three ‘dislikes’ that I knew I would get within the first twelve hours of the video being uploaded. And sure enough, alongside the ‘likes’ that had pleasingly been offered up to reassure my flagging confidence, there it was against the little thumbs-down icon: the number three.

It happens almost every time that I post a video – in fact, I can’t remember the last time it didn’t happen. It’s now got to the point that if that number wasn’t against a video, I would be disappointed that my most disapproving fans, were not paying attention. But no, regular as clockwork, the button had been hit in triplicate.

It’s like the Holy Trinity of Online protest: Father, Son and Holy Spite.

The thing is, I don’t really understand the need to do this and before anyone starts to level the accusation that I must care because I’m discussing it on here, let me say that I’m only doing so in order to gain some comprehension as to why people feel the need to register their angst over something that is not only deeply innocuous in content, but also in a way that’s entirely anonymous! When you do that, other than trying to level the scores across the ‘likes’ and ‘dislikes’, there is no way for me to see who is upset – especially as I have no intention of adding a comments section to my channel. I can imagine the viewers in question thinking “that’ll teach him, coming on here thinking he can post videos and not get a thumbs-down!”. Yeah, it teaches me something, but perhaps not what you have in mind…

So why do people and seemingly three in particular, do this? If you really don’t like the videos, why not simply skip over them and move on to something else? I don’t like boy-bands for God’s sake, but that doesn’t mean that I hover over the Boyzone and Take That pages waiting for a music video to hate – I just don’t visit those pages.

Even within the world of model making there are modellers who create videos that I dislike, but I don’t actively go out of my way to say so, because a) to do that would involve me subscribing to their channel to see updates and I have no intention of boosting their figures and b) I’m not a petty-minded fool that has nothing better to do than follow a channel to not watch a video, so that I can to tell the author that I don’t like his work, from a cloak of total secrecy, in the hope that it will make them feel bad and me feel better about my own insecurities.

It’s all rather silly.

But that seems to be the way of the world these days – offer opinions on everything and if you can’t proffer a cogent point or argument, just hit ‘dislike’. Our ability to ignore Online content has been eroded to the point where to some, it is impossible to simply move on, no matter what is being said. You can create the most informative video ever, helping everyone to build models using an extremely simple technique and there would be guys that don’t like it. Why? Is it because they think the idea is dumb, that it offers nothing of note, or simply as I feel in this case, that they only have to see my name and it wouldn’t matter if I posted a video of a deep-pan pizza, a bowl of profiteroles and a pint of cold beer, they would still dislike it, despite having pizza, profiteroles and beer for their evening meal…That day. You just cannot win.

So I’m preparing for the next video, the next round of comments and ‘likes’ and for the three ‘dislikes’ that I know I will get, one, two, three…

22 thoughts on “YouTube and the need to hit ‘dislike’…

  1. Gerry Doyle February 15, 2017 / 9:47 am

    I would suggest that by highlighting this you may be giving them the reaction they crave?

    • Matthew D Goodman February 21, 2017 / 6:40 pm

      Some people like to be contrary.
      I’ve seen videos of animals nursing and or raising other species. Very sweet and in all honesty gives me hope for us humans. The video can have 300k likes but there will always be some dislikes.
      That said, if you are going to turn off comments because of the negative comments you may get then you should disregard the likes and dislikes as well or not do videos at all.
      If you are going to put yourself out on the internet you have to take the hate with the love.
      It all stems from the anonymity that the internet affords people.

      • spencerp6745 February 21, 2017 / 6:50 pm

        I’m sorry and I don’t mean to be rude (I really don’t!), but where have I ever said that the reason I don’t have comments on YouTube, is to protect myself from negativity? That’s assumed elsewhere and as I have repeated, there are several Facebook pages and this Blog where all videos are linked, that give ample chance for feedback. I simply don’t have time to deal with another interactive portal – it really is as simple as that! All the best. 🙂

  2. Jon Bius February 15, 2017 / 9:57 am

    For what it’s worth, I suppose a few conclusions could be speculated from the “dislikes”:

    – A person may genuinely mean it not so much as a dislike, but rather “in relation to other videos you’ve done, I did not find this one as valuable.” Now, why one would not just decline to rate is a question, but logically I’d say this might be one option.

    – Someone may have simply not liked it. Maybe they didn’t like your choice of fashion, or really disagreed with a particular conclusion. Strong enough to actually click the icon rather than move along.

    – Of course, it’s quite possible someone just doesn’t like you, for whatever reason, and won’t like ANYTHING you do, and will go out of their way to act out on that feeling, simply out of spite. Remember the quote from one of the Batman movies? “Some men just want to watch the world burn.” Some people just want to spew their own unhappiness in any direction they can. (Try putting a site like I have online and see the hateful venom that is directed your way.)

    – And then there’s the possibility that someone who really does like you clicked it simply to yank your chain, which, while it may seem funny to them, is really rather childish to do so anonymously, or without later explanation, if only to you.

    For the record, I did click “like”, because I am really glad to see your videos back. I enjoy the laid back manner, the conversational tone, and the genuinely helpful and encouraging information. And I look forward to more videos!

  3. Andy Bewick February 15, 2017 / 10:00 am

    They are not worth worrying about. I have missed the videos of instruction and chat. I know TMMI have to continue to do what they do (which I also really like, my brother has issue1!) but, because they don’t do a YouTube channel that I am aware of your videos allow a peak into that TMMI world.

    Also because you were influenced by modellers who are sadly no longer with us it keeps alive there techniques that you have taken and modified to allow us to use to get better results from our models.

    Keep it up Spencer, ignore the noise, pass on your knowledge, insight, news and most importantly your viewpoint which is why I have subscribed and it’s free!.

    Many thanks,
    Andy

  4. Billy Dickinson February 15, 2017 / 10:39 am

    I enjoy watching your vids Spence and have missed them…. So welcome back !

    I seem to remember Phil Flory having similar issues recently on YouTube, with particularly vitriolic dislikes. He does however, keep his comments section open, which leaves one exposed to unnecessary, nasty criticism.

    Looking forward to next video. 🙂

    Billy

  5. Keith Ryder February 15, 2017 / 11:22 am

    I was just going to go & click dislike, just to mess with your mind – ”what, 4 dislikes, not 3, what’s going on…?!” But, as Jon said above, that would just be childish! 🙂

    Shows how Youtube savvy I am though – I didn’t even realise there were like & dislike buttons! So could you take this as a ‘like’ please Spence. Missed your vids over the last few months & look forward to more!

    Keith

  6. Andrew Brown February 15, 2017 / 11:45 am

    Well For its worth I teally like your videos and am pleased to see them back. I had been wondering whether you had given up.

    Don’t let them get to you!

  7. Brian Kirwan February 15, 2017 / 4:53 pm

    Good to have you back and let this thing slide.
    There are 3 twats in the world, ok so what?

    Your are one of the best known modellers on this side of the Trump wall and for good reasons so why give them the time of day? Like somebody already has said I will change my like to a dislike just to help you get past this 😂😂😂.

  8. Wim Coquyt February 15, 2017 / 5:05 pm

    Please continue your videos. They are among the best on you tube. I have really missed them.

  9. Michael Douglas Scott February 15, 2017 / 7:36 pm

    Spencer, I also like your videos. Puts me more in touch with a modeling community I respect. Important here in my modeling hinterland. I aim to begin hitting the “like” button because, well, I like them even though I may not always agree with your opinions.

    It is also possible that YouTube employs a kind of twisted statistical bot that automatically pops in three dislikes after a set period. Sound artificial to me.

    Videos? Keep them coming. (How about a Wingnuts Wings build some day?)

  10. coldbasementmodels February 20, 2017 / 4:01 pm

    You may be overthinking this. You’ve got an informative blog with a long history. With this much content, any website is going to get visitors who throw stink bombs. It’s part of the environment, like buffalo turd in Texas. There’s really no single answer to your question. Certain people will dislike anything you post; it’s who they are; it’s what they do.

    Just smile, nod your head, and think about the topic of your next video. Those dislikes are trophies. Hang them on your mantle as a blogger’s “badge of honor”.

    And above all, never, ever, change or alter the content of your blog in an attempt to placate those dislikes.

  11. John February 20, 2017 / 8:40 pm

    So you wrote and entire blog page because a video received three “dislikes”? Seriously?

    • spencerp6745 February 20, 2017 / 9:01 pm

      Did you actually read the entire essay, or just the opening portion? No I didn’t write a blog entry about having three dislikes, I wrote about the idea that everyone I create has three within the first few hours, regular as clockwork, but more than that, why anyone needs to hit a dislike button over something as innocuous as a round up of completed models. I don’t give two hoots about the dislikes, it was just a piece on the mentality of it and why some feel the need to register their negativity to what I write when I have zero idea who you are and your reasons. And before anyone says that I should open the comments section (and I now know that’s the reason for at least one of the dislikes) where do you think I would find the time to read them and answer points when I already edit a monthly magazine, spend a minimum of 50 hours building each month, run three Facebook pages, one blog and a YouTube channel? So no, I didn’t write a blog because I had three dislikes…

      • John February 20, 2017 / 10:11 pm

        Actually Spencer, I read the entire blog post. Since comments on your youtube channel are closed, how can you get any negative feedback short of a “thumbs down”? You’re arguing for the exact opposite of what you’re doing. Seems that a potential viewer gets two options – watch the video and get no opportunity for feedback or just skip it. Sounds like the preferred option is to skip the video because there is no interest on the author’s part to get any feedback other than positive “thumbs up” backslapping.

  12. spencerp6745 February 20, 2017 / 10:25 pm

    Then at the moment, that’s how it will have to be because I have no intention of adding to my load by dealing with another interactive platform. The YouTube channel has direct links to this Blog and as all videos are linked on here as well as various Facebook pages, there is already ample opportunity for feedback, so the lack of video comments is hardly likely to be much of a miss. If that’s not enough and I lose viewers as a result, then so be it…

  13. Steven Smith February 21, 2017 / 2:33 pm

    Oh it’s a conspiracy innit? What a knob. Here’s an idea. If you want constructive feedback (and we know you don’t) maybe you enable comments. Or is your ego too fragile? Maybe you don’t offer a point by point rebuttal of critiques to your friends on your personal page?

    “I don’t care about these dislikes, but let me go ahead and rant and form conspiracies about who’s doing it.” What a loser you are, Spency poo.

    • spencerp6745 February 21, 2017 / 3:39 pm

      Spency Poo? Oh bless – my nephew calls me that when he wants a chocolate biscuit. He’s 6. But more than that, thanks for taking the time to watch the videos and read the Blog – every view helps to build the footprint. Thanks for the comment(s) – it was good to hear from you. 🙂

  14. Steve Allen February 22, 2017 / 8:28 am

    Spency poo? Loser? Really? This is exactly the type of comment that is the reason behind my reluctance to post anything on forums, blogs etc. I discovered and joined a ‘primarily for Brits’ modelling site a few years ago when I first started this hobby. Looking through a thread on a Vulcan build I posted a comment regarding my experiences on working on that aircraft when I was stationed at RAF Waddington in 1971 – I was immediately informed that I was wrong and that my memory ‘must be faulty because of age’. The comment turned out to had been made by someone who had never been at Waddington, never been in the RAF and in fact had never worked on aircraft – they were quoting from a book as if it was a real life experience! I have also seen similar comments made to other modellers on that site, all by people who have no real life experience on the subject. It’s one thing to have a different opinion to someone, but something else to denigrate a person just because of that opinion. I have since discovered just how much vitriol from disaffected, misguided, envious people infects the internet – shame really. Anyway Spencer, your videos, blog and magazine articles really are grist to the mill for me – keep them coming, ignore the idiots and I’ll keep hitting the ‘like’ button!

    • spencerp6745 February 22, 2017 / 8:56 am

      Thanks so much, that’s very nice of you! The kind of comment that we saw yesterday tend to be shrugged off with nothing more than a raised eyebrow. Modellers disagreeing with me is fine (it is after all why I write what I do, the way that I do, to generate a robust debate), but when you read that kind of comment that adds nothing to the conversation, there’s never anything more to do than laugh. I’m pleased that you are inspired by my work – that’s all I need to know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

