Video Introductions – Some Thoughts…

The one thing I hope never comes across though, is that I haven’t faked anything, especially sincerity

It’s Just A Bit Of Fun!

Here are some thoughts on my videos in response to some comments on the forums I frequent, mostly about the introduction segment of each one.

The introduction to the videos is an intentional decision to set them apart from all the others that I see on the Web. I could just go straight into what I am trying to get across – like I did with the David Parker Interview – but sometimes I want to have fun and make the viewer remember the video for another reason – namely, that I’m an idiot. Although I am seen as a modeller who takes what I do seriously (and I do…), it’s really only part of my life, the rest being taken up with really mundane tasks, other jobs that I have to do and friends who are not modellers, who take the piss out of me for building models, the football team I support, what music I like to listen to – and the fact that I hate mowing the lawn. This is what I’m trying to get across: that I am just an ordinary, rather henpecked guy, who spends most of his life in a shed! But more than that, it provides an introduction to the rest of the video and I have fun with it and it makes me laugh – sometimes out loud – when I’m often bogged down with builds and other nonsense that I have to deal with day to day. The one that you may have just seen was rather long, but others will be shorter (a lot shorter), but they all share one thing in common: to relax the viewer.

The one thing I hope never comes across though, is that I haven’t faked anything, especially sincerity. These videos have to look like a one-to-one conversation that you can imagine me having with you in “The Shed” and if that doesn’t happen, I may as well give in. This hobby – and my job – are not life and death, but what we say has to be truthful and seen to be from the heart – otherwise, what’s the point? So, I have fun with the introduction and then deal with the serious stuff that the rest of the video is built around; you have to see what I do and then believe that I understand it and want to get that across in as professional, concise and interesting a way as possible. But it HAS to be fun! I’m not going to sit there and say, “glue A to B, paint it grey and stick C to D”…

And no – there won’t be any more gags about paint racks…

2 thoughts on “Video Introductions – Some Thoughts…

  1. Michael Douglas Scott May 14, 2016 / 2:56 pm

    I think you have an interesting and friendly introduction segment. It would be more enjoyable if both sides of the conversation were audible, and it’s a bit too long. This one was almost five minutes. This is your show and I will be watching regularly in any event. Thanks for doing this.

  2. Jim May 14, 2016 / 4:49 pm

    I enjoy the introductions, they make me laugh and add a little bit of humor to the videos. Sometimes it seems like the hobby is just too serious, so an attempt to lighten it up is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

